Pm1340gt - Against A Wall And Access To The Back?

A

Alan H.

Forum Guest
Register Today
I am studying the PM1340GT lathe with the hope to acquire one for my shop to replace an older machine I have now. I would locate it in my shop such that its back would be against a wall. Of course I will need to access the back of the lathe from time to time.

Like most, I do have a 2 ton engine hoist but I am looking for other ideas. The engine hoist will be somewhat problematic to easily straddle the lathe once in place.

Are there any ideas or solutions out there for ease of moving it out for access to the back? Thanks in advance for your ideas and help.

Other than vacuuming chips and debris from behind it, not much need to get behind it after everything is installed. Just put some casters on L brackets on the stock cabinet sides of the lathe, roll it in and pop down the feet. When mounting casters make sure to give enough room for them to swing around. You could also mount a box beam to the outside of the cabinet faces at either end and mount the casters to those for a wider stance. I also recommend drilling and tapping 4 leveling feet in the corners on the headstock cabinet if you go with the stock cabinet. http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/1340gt-lathe-stand.51072/#post-434900

I put my 1340 close to the wall (less than a foot away?) and never moved it away from the wall until I needed to pack it up for moving. I used my 2T hoist to put the lathe on it's stands as close as I could to it's final resting place, then used one of those big long pry bars a friend loaned me to 'walk' it back into it's final position. Did the opposite when I needed to get it ready for moving.