PM lathe guys - help me decide between 1228 and 1236

BFHammer

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Im getting ready to purchase my first metal lathe. At this point I am close to information overload - I have read every thread and watched every YouTube video I can find.

I'm new to the machining hobby and it is a hobby - it doesn't pay any of the bills. I'm an experienced woodworker and woodturner and have some experience with welding and metal fab. My uses for the lathe will be small projects/parts and really just building my machining skills. I don't do any gunsmithing/barrel work.

My most recent leaning has been to the 1228 first and foremost because of the variable speed and also because I don't need the extra capacity. Although looking at the two packages the outfitted 1228 will essentially be very close in price to the 1236 package.

For you 1228 users what shortcomings does it have - what would you like it to do that it won't or what does it struggle with. Do you find it not rigid or powerful enough for facing, parting, knurling?

For the 1236 guys how much would you prefer VFD (soft start, better control, smoother)? I've seen a lot of threads about converting the 1236 but I really don't want to buy it with an immediate project on the to do list. Not to mention the extra $.

Thanks in advance for your input - all comments are welcome, I have learned so much already here just lurking and reading - looking forward to gaining some experience so maybe I can contribute to the conversation.