Pm 932 Capacitor Explosion

Jay-z

Active User
Registered
image.jpeg
And I thought it was going to be a dull evening. Had a capacitor go bang on my PM 932 in the middle of a small project I was working on. Definitely got my attention, as if the smoke didn't. One second the motor sounded different and then it happened.

image.jpeg

breakdown of the dielectric / overheating induced gas buildup?

breakdown of the dielectric?
No idea, I'm not an electrician. I did check all of the connections and they were tight. Motor ended up screaming hot. Sounds like a phone call to Matt.

Jay

I had no idea those caps could explode! Crazy.
R

had a polarized dc cap blow after installing with the wrong polarity - like a shutgun going off.

I'm letting everything cool off for a while before I get under the hood.

Jay

No idea, I'm not an electrician. I did check all of the connections and they were tight. Motor ended up screaming hot. Sounds like a phone call to Matt.

Jay

Does sound like an overheating induced failure - it is my understanding that in these installations the capacitor is used for motor starting, the overheating may have led to the failure of the capacitor but it may only be a symptom of a larger problem that led to the overheating to begin with (bearing failure?).

I'm also no motor expert, but start capacitors are supposed to be 'disengaged' (for lack of a better term) after the motor reaches some rpm threshold. I have been told that if the capacitor is not disengaged, things like this can happen.

The more I think about it, the more likely this capacitor is being utilized as a "Run" capacitor versus a "Start" capacitor. Start capacitors typically have a relay that disconnects the capacitor from the motor after start - a Run capacitor remains connected. If the capacitor wasn't up to spec or was failing this could have led to the motor not running properly (leading to overheating).