PM 1340GT and PM 932PD Ordered Today

zmotorsports

Registered
Registered
Well, I know I am new here and I have enjoyed reading everyones posts lately. They have been very informative which is why I joined the forum. I have been self taught thus far and have added machining to my small performance shop as a service in which I provide to my clients.

I bought a Smithy 3-in-1 machine about 15+ years ago and it has actually served me fairly well. Originally I purchased it to be able to fabricate/produce small one-off items for the many custom motorcycles, sand rails, sand quads and Jeeps that I have built and work on. Most all of the small custom touches that I add to a chassis or project that I am building have been machined on my Smithy machine.

However, over the past year or so I have found that more and more customers are coming to me to merely machine and/or weld a small part of a project that they are working on. At first I was reluctant because it was taking me away from wrenching or building full-blown project vehicles but my wife and I discussed it and realized that if they don't have me build the entire project then at least some of my work will be on part of the project.

I started picking up more and more side machining and welding projects but quickly realized I was at the limit of my little machine as far as rigidity and accuracy. I have been able to hold quite tight tolerances, however, I really have to watch my dial indicators and have to take many more cuts than I would like to and I have to creep up on the dimensions. I would like to be able to have better repeatability and have the ability to hold tighter tolerances.