Please help me spend some $$ :-)

NM_Longshot

Registered
Registered
I'm new to this, and am in need of some tooling for my Atlas 12x36 lathe. I have much of the basic stuff... Jacobs Mt2 chuck, live / dead centers, three jaw chuck, etc.

I need some tooling to get started cutting. My work will be mostly aluminum. I'd like to be able to cut inside and outside threads, as well as general outside turning.

I know I need a boring bar, and some cutting tools. Can somebody make me a basic start list? I don't have the ability to grind my own tools. The carbide inserts look pretty tempting, but I know nothing about them, nor about the tool holders for them.

Any links to "buy it here" are welcome. Especially at pricing that won't make me start hiding things from my wife :)

Thanks...

Frank

Frank,

IMHO a bench grinder and some HSS to make your own tools would be a good start. I'm assuming the lack of a grinder is the reason you aren't able to make your own. Good luck, and welcome to the forum.

Terry

I would suggest when you get to the threading tools get right left hand on the internal ones. I find it is much easier to do many internal threads left handed in reverse. Include tools for cutting the exit pocket for your threads. I use the biggest tool I can for the job, maybe that's just the few projects I've done but it seems more rigid. I mostly use carbide in one of those 7 piece indexable tool holder sets. The BXA QCTP holds up to 5/8" in the common 201, 202 holders. Shar's has good prices on inserts. I do use some 8% cobalt HSS with good results.

Dave