• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Playtime With Delrin: Bronze Replacement

Uglydog

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Ulma,
Can you speak to the different kinds of Delrin and their features & benefits?
How does it compare to nylon?
Other plastics?

I've not done much plastics.

Thanks,
Daryl
MN

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
i'm no expert by any means on the subject:
here is a link to different grades and uses of delrin
http://www2.dupont.com/Plastics/en_US/assets/downloads/design/DELDGe.pdf

nylon machines a little easier but doesn't have the toughness of delrin, at least the grades iv'e been exposed to.
nylon tends to be softer and gummier whereas delrin has a definite shear point not seen when machining nylon
sharp to rounded tools work well and you can remove .100" per side per pass easily with the right tooling on light machines

as far as comparing to other plastics, i'd say that delrin is one of the most stable and all around go to materials for making:
gears, spacers, low speed- no heat bushings, thrust washers, low strength nuts/bolts, non marring pin punches and drifts, bearing/seal installers, bench blocks,
and other uses that don't come right to mind

as long as the part stays relatively cool and the loads are moderate- i put delrin to use!:D

Last edited:

Tony Wells

Former Vice President
Staff member
Administrator
This is my go-to place for all things plastic (raw materials, and some fab work):

http://www.boedeker.com/mguide.htm

I know the owner, and have been doing business with them for many years. They are an excellent tech resource as well. Good one to bookmark. Besides, they are in Shiner, Texas.....home of a pretty decent brew.

Sandia

Active User
This is my go-to place for all things plastic (raw materials, and some fab work):

http://www.boedeker.com/mguide.htm