Parts Washer Tank

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Guys over the yrs I have taken apart,scrub,clean several machines from woodworking to metal working over the yrs.Today I pull the trigger on a 40gal parts washing tank(used).You can seat the part in the bottom of tank to soak or seat it on a rack,turn on the pump to wash the part.Its my first time for this type of tool so my question is what solution or chemical do I need to purchase for one of those cleaning tanks that will acturally clean that can be purchase local or over the net?Nothing that I will need to keep the local fire departments Hazmat on standby.Thanks----kroll

You want a solvent with a high flash point yet something that won't evaporate very fast. I use a product called Dyna 143 made by ZEP. I have also purchased some from my local NAPA parts store but the last time I replaced it in my solvent tank I got a better price on the ZEP because I purchased more than 10 gallons.

Mike.

All is well and good with your solvent tank until it comes time to dispose of the dirty solvent. It is now regulated waste. Years back when I had my manufacturing company, regulated waste cost me $180/drum to dispose of.

Possibly the best solution (no pun intended) would be to get a Safety-Kleen service that services your tank every so often. You will always have cleaner solvent, new filters and whatever the tank needs. They handle the state manifest from cradle to grave and all the paperwork involved.

I was always very cautious whenever any kind of fluid came into my shop. Simple household chemicals you use at home and dump down the drain cannot be disposed of the same way in a manufacturing environment. If you get caught...

All is well and good with your solvent tank until it comes time to dispose of the dirty solvent. It is now regulated waste. Years back when I had my manufacturing company, regulated waste cost me $180/drum to dispose of...