Parting tool selection

RB72

Registered
Registered
I know there are a lot of threads about parting tools, how to use them,etc. i have a HF 7x12 mini lathe that uses 5/8 tools. I purchased a cheap set of tools from HF which included a parting tool. I am working on a 1" diameter aluminum rod by the way. When i tried to use it there was quite a bit of chatter when just starting. It did a very shallow cut then would not cut any more material. I checked its position relative to the live center and it appeared to be at the right height. The blade on this tool is approx. 1/8 wide. I am new to this lathe and have not used one for years just for some back ground information on my knowledge on these. Can anyone recommend a parting tool that will fit this lathe i can purchase? Based on some reading thinner seems to be better i think. Any help would be appreciated.

A 1/8" parting tool is much too wide for a 7x12 lathe. Get a P parting blade 3/32 wide.

John

"Easy" parting is dependent on several critical factors - all of which need to be correct. First of all, get a parting tool holder like the one sold at LMS. See link below:

http://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=1551&category=

Then, outfit it with a thin parting tool - like the ones LMS sells (LMS, btw, is not the only place you can purchase these tools, but it was quickest link for me to find).