Opinions On Buying The First Lathe. (or The Never Ending, "what Lathe Should I Buy," Question.)

Toysinthehood

Registered
Registered
Hey all,

I'm looking to buy my first lathe. I need opinions on brands people prefer and general pricing. I'm familiar

with larger Lathes, but I cannot afford or fit one into the space I have in my townhouse. I've scoured Craigslist

and several other online buying networks to try and find one that would work to no avail. I've run mostly 14''
swings with 4'-5' or larger but was looking for something around 9"x36''. I have no experience with South

Bend, Logan or other american made lathes that are for the home shop. I've used Acer, Clausing-Colchester,

Cadillac, Kingston, Leblond and a couple of other brands, some of which are on the cnc side, Mori Seiki,

Southwest-Trac, and I run a Kia VTL at work. The closest thing I've touched to, "Old Iron," is the American

radial drill we have at work. It's been around for a while, we even have a 1944 Betts. It is the biggest machine

I have ever seen. Without further ado, here are my requirements, or rather desires.

Any brand.

9-12'' swing, any length up to 48'' (If it weighs over 1000 #'s it's a no go, such as a larger Monarch.)

Quiet (I know this is something I might have to adjust myself, but if there are any brand specific lathes I could search for I need to know them.)

Has a QCGB preferably

Is accurate or has adjustments for accuracy.

Is modestly priced.

I'm from Kansas City. There are South Bends here that people have listed for $3000, There are Atlas lathes here in shambles for $700 and one or two Logans from $700 to $1600 on craigslist. I checked out South Bend Indiana's craigslist and they have a couple of South Bends from $650 up. Do I drive there? I'm really at a loss looking for these things because I have no relative knowledge to the specific market. I'm not trying to buy a Sieg or Sherline either, but still want to hear your opinion if you own those.

Thanks,

Zach