Old round ram Bridgeport

tlmotorsport

Registered
Registered
Hello there,

Recently one of the machinists offered to sell me his old Bridgeport that he doesnt use anymore. Its a round ram with a J-head on it. He's asking for 1200 which includes the vice, vice rotational base, clamp set, collet set, boring bar set, something that uses carbide inserts + inserts (not sure on what it is, he showed me the inserts and said they would go with it). The ways all felt pretty smooth except for 1 gouge in the y axis. Since it was a cold day the oil was pretty thick and didnt want to rub off well to get a close look at the surfaces. Forgot to check the adjustment life left in the gibs when I stopped by to take the pics, but motion felt fairly even across the travel.

I'm fairly new to machining, did a little bit before I started welding for a school project (FSAE), once I started welding I didnt get any more time on the machines really, Wanting to get back into doing a bit more metal working and fab work now that I have a garage to work in. Havent seen any BP's on the local CL or Ebay with a quick search for less than 2 grand for the dovetail rams, no round rams. What would peoples thoughts be on this?

Thanks!IMG_20140208_095901.jpgIMG_20140208_095625.jpgIMG_20140208_095635.jpgIMG_20140208_095713.jpgIMG_20140208_095733.jpgIMG_20140208_095749.jpgIMG_20140208_095818.jpg

IMG_20140208_095901.jpg IMG_20140208_095625.jpg IMG_20140208_095635.jpg IMG_20140208_095713.jpg IMG_20140208_095733.jpg IMG_20140208_095749.jpg IMG_20140208_095818.jpg

I would buy it right now. 1200 seems to be the very bottom here. 2500 is about avg here as far as the lower end goes. 1200 is few and far between and dont last long and dont have tooling most cases