Now What?

catmechanic47

Registered
Registered
I have fell into a Servo 3000 CNC knee mill cheap. It was built in 96 and is using DOS for operating system. Since I have no CNC experience, not sure which way to go. CNC seems too cumbersom for the kind of jobs I might do on mill. I have a 9X42 sharp combo that I just finished going through the lower portion on. Is there a more user friendly program available for a reasonable cost? Its fascinating and fun to play with but starting to think maybe more trouble than its worth. Would a CNC class of some kind be worthwhile or just a CNC for dummies book of somekind. It is almost too big to get in my shop, 96'' tall. Suggestions please.

Man, have you opened a can of worms.Test

Let me relate my experience. About 4 years ago I also fell into a CNC mill about the same size as yours, and like you I had a 9x42 Exacto for about 20 years and no CNC experience. I used the ''new'' CNC as a manual machine with a really fancy DRO for almost a year. Then one day I was asked to make a fixture that would have been a pain to build manually. I just sat down with the book, and figured out how to manually write the G-code to make the machine work. If the CNC controller is working, then just start using the machine. Most CNC controllers have a ''conversational entry mode'', this means you and just enter X,Y, Z coordinates and feed speeds and the machine will follow that path.

Today, I use my machine in CNC mode more than manual, but I can switch back and forth. It looks like that the Servo 3000 CNC has stepper motors on it, so it might be a good candidate for conversion to Mach3 or Mach4. It also has handwheels so can be used as a manual machine. If you want to do a controller upgrade, there are plenty of members here that will be happy to help, my self included.

Take baby steps, play with it. Make sure the Z axis in in a safe position and make air cuts. Get comfortable with the machine, and have fun. It's chance to learn some new skills.