Non-perpendicular Cross Slide?

Well now I have learned something. It makes sense too. But it begs a question, .0001 in 12" would be .000025 in 3" Right? Well I would have a hard time picking that up with any of my tools. so this brings me to the question would a novice even find this? (Not that I am a pro, I'm not even up to intermediate)
I think we need to know how concaved or convexed is it, over what dia.Like .0005 on a 2" dia. for what I do I would be fine there. He's on a 9" lathe thats under .0025.
One thing he should also look at would be is the crossslide out or could it be the head? A 4" test bar would answer this quick enough.(also a good project and learning exercise). Just some thoughts.
Mark

Well, here for one:

"I do notice that on the Prentice Brothers inspection chart they say the the lathe should face .001 “ low or concave in the center."

The above quote is from this thread in "Practical Machinist": http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...ory/accuracy-alignments-machine-tools-247127/

So far as I know, this is common knowledge among old-timers (at seventy, I guess I qualify :) and has been discussed a few times in the above forum.

One thousandth of an inch would be within most part tolerances. I never heard of it being built in before but does make sense. Thanks

Mark, you have just pointed out the reason why a slight concavity is desirable. Two parts will always mate properly, a single faced shaft will always lie flat on a planar surface and the amount of taper is so slight as to cause no problems in normal applications. BTW, the figure that was mentioned is .0002 in 12 inches, not .0001.

Since the OP has a Chinese lathe (I presume) the quality standards are unknown. Rather than .0002 in 12 inches it could very well be .008 in 12 inches, who knows ?