Newbie: Need Help Setting Up Overhead Ram Support Van Norman 16 Mill

Bob V

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi,
I'm new to milling-- have done some car/truck/farm repairs-- but just bought a Van Norman 16 mill last April and am finally getting around to getting it going and have made a few chips.
I'm trying to figure out how to set up the overhead ram support for horizontal milling:
--The picture shows the "Pilot-type Arbor Support" that goes on a large ram and I have learned this is to support the outer end of the spindle when doing horizontal milling (hope this is correct!!). The smaller hole (.715") in the arbor support is a bushing on bearings-- and this, I think somehow supports the outer end (with the nut) of the other tool in the picture that is chucked in the spindle when horizontal. The tool that chucks into the spindle (with the nut on one end) has a one inch diameter with a keyway (.250").

I seem to be missing some pieces in this puzzle: 1) If a saw-type slot cutter is mounted on the one inch shaft-- shouldn't it have bushings on one/both sides to stabilize it along the shaft-- then tighten the nut on the end? If so, what are these called if I want to order some from a tooling supplier?
2) Some sort of shaft must go in the .715" hole in the Pilot Arbor Support to provide support to the outer end of the 1" shaft. The end of the 1" shaft looks like it takes a "center"/cone shaped tool that I am missing. What is this piece called and would a tool supplier have this or do I have to wait until I get a lathe and make one myself? (after I learn how to run a metal lathe!!

--Am I on the right track??
Thanks in advance,
BobOverhead Ram support.jpg

I don't know much about the model 16; it looks like it takes a VN "C" taper. My 22l takes a NMTB50 taper and the end of the "A" type arbor is turned down to fit the hole in the Arbor Support.