Newbie Here

737captain

Registered
Registered
I just wanted to introduce myself.

Back to the beginning, 1970, I finished High School at the suggestion of the Headmaster who declared “You’re not learning anything from us, and we’re certainly not learning anything from you.” My Dad, was a toolmaker at Rolls Royce although at the time he was there as a tooling buyer. Following the last day of school he returned from work and asked my intentions to which I replied that I’d been thinking about it and that I was going to take six week summer break and regroup. He said he’d thought about it too and I start work on Monday at a local engineering firm, one of his suppliers.
I worked there for about two years, no training but ran mills and lathes that had been set up by the tradesmen. I also spent time in their QA so knew how to read a drawing. 1972 I was made redundant and that was the last time I saw a machine shop.
Fast forward to the present day, I’m a retired airline pilot, flight instructor and simulator instructor for the Cessna Longitude business jet.
A couple of years ago I bought a South Bend 9C lathe with the intent of being able to make parts for my vintage motorcycles. I’ve thrown quite a bit of cash in an attempt to produce acceptable parts, I bought tipped tools, measuring equipment but continue to struggle with consistent sizes and get awful surface finish.
Im in awe of some of the project I see here, I just read a thread of a very talented gentleman who made a 5 cylinder radial engine for an RC plane. Incredible talent, I know that ultimately I can do that sort of thing, I need tuition but and adequate tooling.
I was thinking of buying a new lathe and come to the age old question, new import bench top PM perhaps, or older more substantia. Any input would be appreciated. Also I’m looking around for a local trade school where I could enrol as a mature student.
Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated.