Newbie here, just got a 9a - dial problem

paul_c

Registered
Registered
Hello, a lot of people ask about backlash in the crosslide and compound. I am asking about something simpler: on my compound, when you turn the handle the dial moves with the handle, showing movement in thousands of an inch as it should. However, on the crosslide, the handle seems to be moving independently of the dial. I cannot tighten the cap on the end of the handle any further. It seems like if this were tight, friction between the handle and the dial is what makes the dial turn with the handle. You can't use a flat head screw driver as there is a center post in the handle so I can't tighten down very well.

Addendum: I found an exploded view of the handle/dial. It seems that when you remove the thumb screw in the dial, there is a"button" (and maybe a sleeve or something?) that the screw would press on to help secure the dial to the underlying rod (and I don't seem to have that piece). Might be the problem

Last edited:
Many times the button that you are referring to is made out of brass or even nylon. Something soft so that the dial gets clamped to the shaft, but is soft enough to not damage the shaft like a setscrew or thumbscrew would. Delrin works quite well for this too. Brass will probably 'lock' the dial to the shaft better than Delrin would; it could still be moved, but brass might require a bit more force to move the dial than Delrin would.

Many times the button that you are referring to is made out of brass or even nylon. Something soft so that the dial gets clamped to the shaft, but is soft enough to not damage the shaft like a setscrew or thumbscrew would. Delrin works quite well for this too. Brass will probably 'lock' the dial to the shaft better than Delrin would; it could still be moved, but brass might require a bit more force to move the dial than Delrin would.