Newbie here - is this a good deal?

dlinva

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hello everyone, joined a bit ago but this is my first post. Looking to acquire a lathe and saw this on Ebay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1942-HEAVY-...491159?hash=item3addfda697:g:iPoAAOSwB-1Y2UXQ

There is also a link to a Youtube video. In the video the gentleman states that he believes the cross slide needs a new nut but he didn't have time.

Is what he is asking for this lathe reasonable?

Thanks in advance for the help!

I was on a search for a long time myself. I looked and looked for a SB 9 or one of the craftsman atlas lathes. Everything I found was either way over priced, worn badly or poor condition. I waited.

I ended up bigger than I wanted. Almost every week since I have run across one of the smaller ones in good shape.

I myself was cautious of the liquid overhauls. Paint makes it look good, but doesn't make it work any better.
I ended up with a Sheldon that is the equal to the heavy 10 so they tell me. I gave $2500 with a fair amount of extras. I am the third owner of this. The prior owners took very good care of it.
This area of the country there is just not a lot of these good small lathes around.

It's like fishing, have patience.
Good luck to you.
Jeff

With all the extras it sounds fair , if you can pick it up you'll save a grand on shipping. I bet.