Newbie and questions about an old 109....

abracadabra

Registered
Registered
Howdy folks! My first post here. Perhaps a little back story would help:

I'm a musician and have also been repairing musical instruments for many years. In the last 10 years I've been focusing on woodwind instruments and in my workshop I"ve used extensively what we instrument repairers call a "bench motor". This is basically a tool made for the industry that is usually a 1/4 or 1/2 HP motor with extended hollow shaft and chuck. The modern models (only a few are made) also have variable speed and a hand brake.
With the bench motor I've been able to do alot of things, but I've always known at some point I would need a real lathe to do more intensive repairs, as well as being able to make more of my own tooling.

I've posted about this on more appropriate musical specific forums and have learned alot, but, I haven't found a single person who had anything to say about the old Craftsman 109's!

Most modern repair folks will have a bench motor and/or a modern mini lathe. The mini lathe can do most things a bench motor can do, and more. But it doesn't allow for larger repairs and also isn't useful for toolmaking.

Which leads me to looking for something bigger than a Unimat or watchmakers lathe (although I was at first very interested in both of these!).

Locally I've found a 109 that has quite a bit of extra "stuff" with it. I went to look in person and couldn't really make heads or tails of much, being a newbie and all, but it looked complete and just needing to be cleaned up etc.

I'm posting here because I'd like some opinions on this machine. First off I know full well the varied reputation of the 109, I've searched the internet and have read that most folks don't think much of this machine but there are some who think its serviceable if its downsides are realized.