New To Me Lathe

Skeetshooter01

Registered
Registered
I picked this lathe up on Monday. The previous owner said that it was a South Bend. I cant find any identifying marks on it! Any ideas

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not an expert either but the headstock, back gears, gearbox and apron all look like those found on South Bend lathes. That being said, I have never seen one quite like that before. To locate the serial number, go to the right end of the bed. It should be stamped on the the top of the bed, right next to the ways. Once you have the serial number, you can go to Steve Wells website http://www.wswells.com/ and from the serial number, determine the year it was made. Based upon the fact that it is a "top oiler" it is probably from the 20's or 30's. Looks like the half nut lever is missing from the front of the apron too. Did you get any of the drive components with it? Looks like it uses an overhead drive system. Good luck with it. Looks like one heavy duty machine.
Earl

Nice looking machine. The lead screw is also missing. Not sure that any lathes were ever built and released deliberately not able to thread, but I suppose that can't be ruled out. Otherwise, perhaps a previous owner had trouble with it, and started a repair. Or perhaps was unable to obtain proper repair parts.

It reminds me of an American I used to have. Mine was 1913 built, so I'm thinking maybe yours is 10's-20's.

Be sure and keep us up on your progress, and anything you find out about it.

I'll try to answer some of the questions intelligently if I can! Serial number: On the ways near the tailstock there is a number "1" stamped in the bed.There is a number "1" stamped in the back of the saddle.
The lead screw is there though the picture doesn't show it very well.
The "half nut" is controlled through the knob to the right of the longitudinal crank.
The previous owner said that he had the drive components hung from the ceiling.