New Student of the trade: First measuring devices

OrangeJasper

Registered
Registered
I am a new machinist student her in Memphis , completed all y safety and now learning on machines.

I am ready to purchase my first Mocreter and Caliper.
I am learning on ToolingU.com (school requires a one year subscription)
Where do I start?
which brand?
Definitley want to start with a dial caliper and manual read micrometer.
my budget : about 600$
i would like to get asuch as I can for the money.
ie. Micrometer/Caliper, debuting tools, my own dial indicator , and anything else you pros suggest.
thanks!
Josh B.

Welcome to the forum!

It might be helpful to read: http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php/22521-Metrology-101

$600 is a very good start. There are tons of places on the web for measuring tools, find one you trust and go from there. I would not spend your budget all at once, save some $ for those special tools/gauges (some will say gage) you will find that you need at a later date.

Any specific questions feel free to ask,

JK

If you will do used you can get some very very good deals on starrett and mitt or B&S mics. I use cheap harbor freight digi calipers. Calipers ar for roughing so long as it holds you to a few thou your good.

What I used in school personally..... 1in travel starrett drop indicator, 5 tenth starrett test indicator, angle blocks, 0-1, 1-2, 2-3 starrett mics, starrett inside mics, inside snap gage, starrett height gage, cheap angle finder, cheap mag base, edge finder set, mill file with handle, cheap gage block set, thread wires/thread mic....

Maybe more I'll think on it

For Calipers for a beginner I would recommend a set with a dial.

As for Mics, Mitotoyo is as good as they get these days. A set from 1 to 4 inch will get you started.

The rest will come with experience.

"Billy G"

Last edited by a moderator: