New Qctp Hits Top Slide On My New Th54.

38Bill

Registered
Registered
So I'm new at all this stuff but I just got done tearing down my new/old TH54 and I'm getting it back together again. I purchased a Aloris type quick change tool post and I find that it slightly sticks out past the machined flat on the top of the tool post slide and hits the rounded top so it wont fit tight. I dont have a mill so I was wondering if a flat spacer just thick enough to get the qctp mounted high enough to clear the top of the tps would work. I dont know if by using a spacer it would screw up the quality of the cutting. Thanks.

You can file it flat, use an angle grindre, or belt sander. I isn't that hard. Lots of folks on here have done that without a mill.

File will work. I used my drill press to mill mine out. Nor recommended but it worked.

Most of the time. :)

File will work. I used my drill press to mill mine out. Nor recommended but it worked.

Most of the time. :)

When the tiny asian drill press was my only stand alone power tool I often used it for milling aluminium.
That chuck used to go spinning off into the void so often I epoxied it in place.
Its still there 20 years later and still works but I dont use it for milling any more.
If I ever have to remove the chuck I will throw away the drill and get a better one.

I was thinking about filing it but I have a halfway decent belt/disc sander that I think I will try first. I just didnt want to start messing the old girl up if I didnt have to. The qctp will be a great addition. Thanks.

I filed mine...twice because I was a bit short the first try and the corner of the QCTP still hit. 15 minutes max with good sharp files, start with a rough double cut and switch to a fine single cut when close to complete. Search back...lots of threads about this conversion.