New Logan Owner

chazmonro

Registered
Registered
Guys, I just picked up this logan 825 in chicago for 450... its got some issues, it didn't come with a chuck and it's reverse gear handle has been broken off.

lathe2.jpg lathe3.jpg

I saw a reverse gear bracket on ebay, but it's off a Logan 200, do the parts interchange on these 10" logans. I don't know how different these are.

Also, the ways look really good except for right by the headstock. what do you guys think about this?
lahte4.jpg

And finally I know I have to get my hands on a chuck at some point. I could use some advise in that area as well, I'm just beginning, so I don't really want to spend a lot. But I want something that will work.

I'm thinking of restoring this machine, at least going through it and making sure nothing is really bad on it, maybe throw a coat of paint on it. The leads screw looks real good, but I haven't even gotten into the transmission yet. Do you guys think this is a good candidate to fix up?

lathe1.jpg

I can't comment on the parts interchangeability, but I'm sure there's someone here who knows. As for the ways, all the damage that I can see from your photo is on the tailstock ways. You'll never have your tailstock that close to the headstock, so it won't affect anything.

Welcome to the group!

Hey, Chaz.

Congratulations on your purchase. I've had fun working on and using my two Logan Lathes.

Do you guys think this is a good candidate to fix up?

FWIW, this is kind of a loaded question. It depends on what your expectations are. If you just want to make parts that don't require high precision you may be able to become operational at a low cost. If you expect a high degree of accuracy then you may have another story on your hands.