New Lathe Twisted bed

Versacon7

Registered
Registered
Hi Guys-
I'm a newbie to this forum and have been hobby machining for 50 years (since junior high). I just bought a new 14x40 gunsmith lathe and am setting it up. I leveled (10" Mitutoyo) the bed as follows: I first leveled the closest way from side to side. I then leveled the tail stock end from front to back. Lastly I tried leveling the spindle end front to back. It is down on the far way by .007. I think the bed is twisted. I have yet to cut a blank to see what happens but I don't think I want to go that far until I get the bed straight. I went ahead and bolted the base to the concrete slab in my shop as I leveled the machine. When I found the outside spindle end down, I tried shimming up the cast bed frame up .007 to see if I could get it to move. Nothing moved. I actually didn't think I could get it to move but I thought I would give it a try. By the way, When I measure the ways at the mid point, it is also down .003. So It seems to be twisted progressively. I'm thinking I could probably correct for this by adjusting the headstock case by re-aiming it. I prefer to have everything level instead.
Any ideas how to remedy this?

Call the manufacturer or people you bought it from. This should not happen with a new lathe.

"Billy G"

I agree and did. They told me to unbolt the bed from the stand and see if it relaxes over a month or so...
I'll give it a month and probably send it back. I cringe at re-crating it and sending it 1,000 miles.
If I could fix the twist, it might be easier than sending it back.
Versacon

You paid for a good lathe bed.
You shouldn't have to wait a month to identify if there is a problem.
If you need to send it back will they pay for your re-crating/palatalizing?
How does the warranty read?

Daryl
MN

When you said you shimmed the bed up 0.007, did you try any more than that?

I just setup my lathe recently and I didn't bother that much with leveling. I used a carpenters