1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

New lathe/mill

Discussion in 'A BEGINNER'S FORUM (Learn How To Machine Here!)' started by gregc, Apr 17, 2017.

1. gregc

gregc United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    Savannah
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

Greetings
    I am basically a newbie, but had done limited machining while in college. I am considering doing some more machining as I am planning to retire and a couple years and thought it would be a good hobby to get into.

I am debating what to buy for my first mill/lathe. I could get older machines that are in decent shape (saw a SB 1002 recently at a good price) or buy something new (maybe the PM1030). I think the small cheap machines would make more frustration that good output. I am thinking that around 2K each is about right for the size machine I would like from a budget and space consideration.

Any recommendations on old or new and maybe any other considerations in limiting the choices. There are so many choices and many can be found at a lower price w/ patience. I live in the Dallas area and wondered if there are good resources here.

Thanks
    Greg

2. gregc

City:
    Savannah
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

BTW I was thinking of doing a CNC mod in the future (electrical engineer).