New Guy, New Machinest, Looking For A Start

Reverend Bow

Registered
Registered
Gents, I am new to machining, but I would like to start.

I was at Harbor Freight today an was looking at the 7x10 they have in the store.

I was looking on line about it and it brought me to this forum. Most forums chalk this thing up as pure evil, but I like the can do atmosphere here.

I understand there are better units out there, but as a starter, and available locally, this seems to be it.

I have a project in mind, which is converting a Brass framed kit 5 shot Colt .36 BP pocket pistol to 5 shot 22 Mag... 22 barrel liner is already installed, I need to cut it off and crown the muzzle, then counter the forcing cone.

The biggest trick I think will be boring the cylinder to sleeve it from .36 down to the .22Mag. I already have the 0.375 OD x0.065 wall DOM steel tubing for the sleeves, I just need to turn down the OD to fit in the bored cylinders.

Will the 7x10 be up to a task such as this?

So.... is the HF 7x10 good enough to start with for this type of project?

Thank you for your input.

I don't know about that machine or your particular project, but I'd go for the 7x12 over the 7x10. It's only thirty dollars more and the extra length is easily worth it.

Also new here and for what its worth I decided to pick up a vintage machine of much larger size for Im sure less than the HF machine.

My reasoning being more capacity equals more better and that with all the fiddling the forums say comes standard with the HF machine Im not losing much more time reconditioning a classic.

Dont let that sway you to much though, I am heavily biased by a passion for vintage iron as well. Its entirely possible I made an entirely illogical decision

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk