New Guy Just Bought First Mill. Need Local Class.

Big_Blue

Registered
Registered
I took the plunge and bought a HF mini-mill (http://www.harborfreight.com/two-speed-variable-bench-mill-drill-machine-44991.html). Used a 25% coupon and got it just before Christmas for about $400.

After watching scores of Youtube video I finally decided to jump into the hobby myself. I've never used a mill before and am looking forward to it. I think it would help if I could find a local hobby class. Anybody know how to go about finding one?

My mill isn't even unpacked yet. I can hear it calling to me at night...

It would be helpful if everyone knew what area you live in. :)

You could also check with your local JC to see if they are aware of any.

This reminds me of the heating and AC forum I frequent...

The DIY-ers are always asking questions about sizing systems (BTU's of heat, and Tons of AC)... yet they never bother to fill in their location. I guess the idea of different climates requiring different capacity (yeah, it is warmer in the south and colder in the north)... does not register. :)

Generally, the local junior college may have a night class... I would check with them.

Congratulations on the Mill. As a completely new guy to the metal working world as well I would suggest you get the mill cleaned and set up. Bill suggested that to me when I got mine and the process of taking the machine apart and cleaning/adjusting it was very informative. I took everything on my mill apart, the bed, pulled the head off, pulled the motor off, opened up the electronics... I have to admit though that I have 40 years experience as a woodworker and am comfortable setting up tools, calibrating and adjusting machines. Not to the tolerances of machine tools, but the concepts are the same, just smaller increments. Watching videos by Tom's Techniques has been ver helpful as well. He does a great job and makes concepts easy to understand. One of your best resources is this forum. Good luck!