New DRO Install on G4003G Lathe

RocketLathe

Registered
Registered
I've got a new Grizzly G4003G Lathe and I wanted a simple two axis DRO. I found a lot of good write-ups online and in the forum, but not many that were recent, so I wanted to share my experience for future travelers looking for options. I have a lot of experience with CNC and mills, but I am a complete beginner with the lathe (my son is far more advanced) and my needs are purely garage hobbyist -- we make parts for large liquid rockets.

In my set up I wanted a DRO for the carriage travel and the cross slide, but I didn't need it for the tailstock (I am adding a digital caliper to the tailstock). So, I only need a basic two axis model.

DRO SELECTION

I did a lot of research on the different types of DROs and the different types of scales. Honestly, I wasn't really impressed with any of them. A DRO consists of the head unit and an optical or magnetic scale. The head units have a broad range of features and functions, screen types, and mounts, but most of the LCD/display units are cheap and churned out from China in bulk. The magnetic scales were interesting, but my experience with magnetic tape in other situations concerned me, so I went with the "cheap and reliable" optical glass linear scales. The glass scales come in three sizes - large/standard (KA300 25mmx25mm), medium (KA500 18mmx20mm), and very small (KA200 16mmx16mm).