New DRO Install on a G0619/SX3

PurpLev

Active User
Registered
A little back story:

I've been using my benchtop mill for a few years now and was looking at going somewhat digital for quite some time now. While I have no problems reading the dials and managing backlash (have been doing so until now and as of this writing still doing so) I wanted to simplify things, and speed things up a tad especially for repeatable operations, finding centers of parts and the likes.

Obviously the first thing that came to mind is getting a DRO, but looking at pricing, and knowing of also the possibility of going the CNC router I put a hold on any upgrades until I figure out which path I want to take. If I am spending any large sum, might as well get what will work best for me than having to spend twice.

Eventually (after over a year of debating) I decided that CNC is adding too much complexity and parts (and maintenance, and parts that might require replacing, and who knows what more) than I have the time and focus for at the moment, and I do enjoy manual work. Another reason for going CNC is for auto feeding- but for long parts, I'll just do that manually for the time being as most the parts I work on are smaller scale.

Looking at pricing for a DRO I noticed 3 main price brackets which seemed aimed at hobby machinist:

1. The $1000 range (dropro and equivalent)
2. The $500 range (drostore, drokits)
3. The $300 and below range (iGaging, Shumatech, etc)

Being with a low budget I was planning to stay within the 3rd bracket, and the Shumatech seems like a really nice option with pretty advanced functions. unfortunately it seems they are now not as available as one would like (yes, I did find 1 online provider, but they did not carry any "compatible" scales, and at this point I would like to fine 1 provider to get all the parts from to avoid any incompatibilities issues) so that option was off the table.