New Barrel ?

ChuckB

Active User
Registered
This is probably a dumb question, but here goes.. I am new to lathes and know nothing about gun smithing, but like many people I enjoy guns. A number of years ago I purchased a .223 Ruger Ranch Rifle from a friend. It looked to be in good shape, but when I looked in the barrel it had some obvious problems. Apparently it wasn't ever cleaned properly..clumps of rust. I bought it cheap and took it home and cleaned it. I was never able to get the rifling looking like it should though. Took it out and shot it. I was unable to shoot a tight consistant group. My question is, can the barrel be salvaged via lathe work, or does it need to be replaced ?

Hopefully, Bobby Bailey will chime in with professional advice, but from my knowledge of firearms, about the only remedy to your problem is a new barrel. The rifling has been damaged by rust and corrosion and nothing can put the metal back. Once it is cleaned as well as possible, shooting won't hurt it, but you can't expect great groups.

Thanks all for the good info.

Guess I can live with the accuracy.. I don't shoot it on a regular basis. It's really more of a home defense security blanket :)

Looks like that Turbine and I had the same reaction to our Ranch models. Shoot like what comes out of the south end of a north bound cow. I sold mine off for more than I paid for it due to market conditions, so no lost. I was looking at a custom heavy barrel for it before I sold it but a got a sweet deal on a 6mmPPC rifle and never looked back.

If the barrel is pitted there is not much to be done. The rifle is not worth a rebore or a new barrel, and you stated you will live with it.

My security blanket is a 12 gauge pump. As recommended by a local LEO.

Bigger the barrel size, bigger the intimidation.

author=pdentrem link=topic=1256.msg6332#msg6332 date=1299548656
My security blanket is a 12 gauge pump. As recommended by a local LEO.

Bigger the barrel size, bigger the intimidation.