New 9x20 arriving this week.

Doc

Registered
Registered
Well, I finally took the plunge and bought a JET 9x20 lathe and it should arrive tomorrow or Wednesday. Quite exited but still a bit apprehensive as I am a complete newbie to machining. I've read a lot in the last year or so though, and plan to start with the projects in Harold Hall's workshop series book: Lathework, a Complete Course.
I finally decided on the Jet as it came with two chucks, steadies and other accesories included.
Wish me luck...

Congrats Doc! How exciting! I have heard great things about the Jet machines.

Take pics of install or opening packaging if you can! People love seeing that- and helps future buyers know what to expect.

I look forward to following your progress!

Bernie

sweet. congrats... sounds like you'll have plenty of projects to go through. I went through the same book ,and think it's a good start!

enjoy!

I picked up a new Jet lathe last year and it has been one of the best things I ever did.
A friend had a NIB Jet 9X20 that was 3 years old so I jumped on it too.
I changed out the tool post for a quick change model and also replaced the tool post plate for a 4 bolt version.
Been thinking about putting on a motor that allows variable speed control but that's for another day.
It works plenty good for what I do, which is tinkering around.
You'll be happy.

You will not be sorry you bought the Jet. It's a good machine.

"Billy G"

One other thing, I put DRO's on mine and it has made a world of difference.
I think it was less than 100 bucks and a few hours and well worth it.