Need some advice on first tooling for new PM-30MV

Hey Mark, just a heads up regarding referring to Ebay by any other name. I did, mashing two common terms, and was accused of being "disrespectful" or some such. The post was altered by the same moderator.

I have an Accusize face mill, it's their higher end Northward brand, a very nice piece.

Would also recommend an ER collet set and R8 chuck. I started with ER32 generic off ebay. Just recently got the Techniks ER40 set and a Shars ER40 chuck and am very satisfied. Either size should be fine, depending on your needs.

I am very pleased with YG-1 tooling (I have some of their end mills, spotting drills, and spiral taps). Made in Korea and very nice.

My apologies, I should have been a little more clear in my original post. I do (some) manual machining and a whole lot of CNC machining for a living (automotive parts), this is just the first mill that I’ve bought for my home so I’m by no means a total beginner.

I was mostly asking about their quality because at work we use Tungaloy and Seco tooling with a couple others sprinkled in but for the most part their prices are too high for a non-production environment so I’ve been looking around for lower cost alternatives.

I do absolutely appreciate your response, I have some cheaper HSS end mills to get a feel for this specific machine and once I do I plan to move on to carbide pretty quickly. Ultimately this machine will be converted to CNC, but of course I’m going to play with it in the meantime.

Get in good with the guy in the tool crib as the worn out stuff or obsolete sometimes get tossed.

Small mills and solid carbide do not get along but carbide inserts work if you can get decent holders.

The collet with set screws are handy as easy to change but only need maybe 3/8 and 1/2 and harbor freight once sold a decent set of 2 and 4 flute end mills for reasonable price.