Need some advice first project out of mill

Cb750r

Registered
Registered
Hi I'm just a rookie, I've made these parts in a taig mill, but need some advice on the next step. These will be clamps that will fit on my motorcycle forks to affix the turn signals and headlight bracket. So next steps are to cut a slot through the rectangular portion to make it a clamp as well as drilling and taping the piece

im im thinking drilling first the. Cutting, then taping is the way to go, sound right?

second, question. What to use to cut a nice clean 1/8" cut? I have a big abrasive chop saw that will destroy thi piece, air cut off tools that aren't much better, and a hacksaw I've considered just milling with a small cutter but that will take ages!

Tips tricks, or time to buy more tools?

image.jpg

One possibility, with only a lathe to work with is to take a slitting saw, mounted on a straight shank arbor, and hold it in your lathe chuck. Attach the clamp you fabricated to your tool post in some way (use a clamp, fixture, even a tool holder, etc) and use your cross feed to feed the clamp into the slitting saw.

JMHO

-Ron

On edit: Don't know why I was thinking you were limited to a lathe. Slitting saw/arbor/mill easy enough.

Last edited:
I would drill it and counter bore it then cut it then tap it. Remember the side thats not threadeed will need to be a tick larger radius then the threaded side. So two counter bores if you planned to in set the screw.

If I did not have a vert bandsaw for that kinda part, I would clap some flat steel to it as a guide and cut it with an angle grinder. Time you set up one for a non critical cut like that you could be done cutting and filing the edges.

slitting saw seems the logical choice.

"I would drill it and counter bore it then cut it then tap it. Remember the side thats not threadeed will need to be a tick larger radius then the threaded side."