Need Recomendations For A Vise

Helo-tech

Registered
Registered
Hey Guys,

I'm in need of a new vise for my bench top 3 in 1 machine (very similar to the Grizzly 4015S) I know you guys will have some great insight into them. I've poured over previous postings but the amount of info on here is mind boggling.

bearing in mind that I am new to the whole machining thing, I'd like a vise that will be accurate enough to do some decent work when I'm capable but won't break the bank right here at Christmas time. I understand the precision costs $$'s but at my current stage I'm not sure how much precision I need.

any ideas on where to get a decent vise at a decent price??

thanks a ton guys.

A good vise is indescribable. Quicker easier and more accurate. Just fun.
It's worth saving for a Kurt, Glacern, or Eron. Used is ok as long as it's not abused.
Meanwhile do you have hold downs?
While set up is more time consuming than a vise. It will teach you.
Be sure to get the correct size for your mill.

Daryl
MN

Spot on. Save up and buy good tooling. Poor quality tooling will only cause ulcers and headaches. I have bought such tooling and have suffered for it.

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

Buy the best tools possible. Never skimp. If you can stretch to Kurt, Orange, or equivalents, do that. Remember you'll be using this daily for decades.

Glacern has reportedly had some quality problems recently. My 5 year old reversed screw 6" is fine. Might want to do some digging before buying a new one.

Shars carries a Kurt knock-off at a better price, and it has pretty good reviews.

I agree buy the best vise you can afford ( cry once not every time you use it) I bought what I thought I could afford and now wish I had bought better.

I agree buy the best vise you can afford ( cry once not every time you use it) I bought what I thought I could afford and now wish I had bought better.