Need Help Understanding This Thing

oughtsix

Active User
Registered
I just bought a "new " toy. The owner had not ran it for 35 years, and I don't know how much older it is. (there were animal bones in the box it came in, so I don't know if I need to hold the bones over it and chant or not) Before I plug it in I would like to understand what is going on. I've attached photos of the phase converter box ( a VFD?) and an attached panel. The yellow cord is the power supply and that feeds the switch(not shown).

I understand basic wiring, but this is beyond me at the present. So my questions are: How does the current move through this thing? Does it look safe?
phase-2ws.jpg

panelsopenws.jpg

I'm no expert, but I believe what you have is a static phase converter. The three rectangular and single round items are capacitors. I have never had much luck with static converters. I run a rotary phase converter to power the machines in the shop. You can run the machine on a VFD, but that will require more knowledge to set up as well as more money, assuming this is a three phase machine.

My concern would be the capacitors. After setting for 35 years they are probably bad. I would look into installing a VFD, it might be the least cost option.

If you go with a VFD, save the reversing motor starter (on the right), you can use it for something else down the road.

My concern would be the capacitors.

ditto here.....capacitors tend to "dry out" over the years. If not totally dried out, it _may_ be possible to "reform" them by applying low voltage and slowly raising it higher , but you'd want to take them out of the circuit to do that....

Plugging them directly into high "mains" voltage may find the problems immediately......but it could be dangerous (smokey and explosive!).

It looks like you have a static phase converter like this:
http://www.homemetalshopclub.org/projects/phconv/phconv.html

Also see here for disadvantages of static phase convertors: