1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Need Help Proxxon PD 400/E

Discussion in 'MINI-LATHE & MINI-MILL INFORMATION' started by QuyND, Apr 28, 2017.

1. QuyND

QuyND Vietnam Iron Registered Member

City:
    Ho Chi Minh City
    State:
    Outside US / Canada

-Return to Top-

Hello guys, greeting from Vietnam. Does anyone of you guys own a Proxxon PD400? I plan to buy one in Germany and ask my relative to ship it back to Vietnam for me. I'm just a newbie. I just quit being apprentice at a small workshop to go back to school to learn more. I want to buy a mini-lathe so i can do small stuff at home.

1. Is PD 400 a good lathe? I just do some small stuff at home. I think i dont need a bigger lathe than this (I cant affort a bigger lathe, btw).

2. Can you guys give me some review? I took a little research over the internet but i cant find much about it.

3. The build quality?

4. Is it strong enough to cut 304, 316 stainless steel?

I'm sorry if i have any mistake, i'm new to the forum. If you have any recommend, tell me, please.

Thank you. I'm really appreciate.

2. markba633csi

markba633csi United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    Mountain View
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

Hi Quy, the PD400 would be ok for light hobby use; it makes use of alloy aluminum and zinc die-castings. You might also consider one of the smaller Asian 7x10 or 8x14 sized cast-iron lathes which would give more rigidity and possibly less cost...?
    Mark S.

QuyND likes this.
  3. QuyND

City:
    Ho Chi Minh City
    State:
    Outside US / Canada

-Return to Top-

Hi Mark,
    Thanks for your reply, which lathe would you recommend? I was thinking of the Grizzly G0768Z before this lathe.
    QuyND.

4. markba633csi

City:
    Mountain View
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-