Need Help Making Knobs

JR49

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
So, I decided to replace the travel lock knobs on my PM 932 mill. Well hey, I'm a hobby machinist right? Why would I buy 6 knobs at about 65 cents a piece, when I can buy a 10 dollar 1.75" dia aluminum round bar and spend countless hours making my own? What an easy project this will be! Or so I thought. I guess if I had cut the round bar into 6 chunks 1" thick, I could have then made the star shaped outside dia., and the center hole on each piece individually, ( doing it manually, as I don't have a rotary table) but that would have been a lot of setting up, and I'm too smart for that, right? I decided I would shape the OD of the whole 8" long round bar, and then cut it into the 6 knobs approx. 1" thick. Then I had the realization that I have no clue how to set it up or even how to shape the OD into something like the pic I've included. Something like this sure puts me in my place as a complete newbe (been on this for 2 days and have nothing to show). Would sure like to hear some opinions on this--If you say I can't do it that way, then how would you do it ??? Thanks, JR49

PS. Have lathe, mill, horiz. saw, drill press fair amount of tooling incl. a boring head and bars
KNOB 2.jpg

Have you seen the YouTube channel click spring? Watch his videos on cutting pinions for his clock. Basically he does exactly what you're describing- cuts the profile of the part through a whole bar and parts off what he needs. If you got the right shape and size cutter I imagine you could probably set it up on the mill.

Edit- here's the link to the video:

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not to even imply you can't find some way to do this, JR, but it would be easiest to use the stuff you don't have - a rotary table and tailstock support. Given the lack, maybe you would consider asking one of the guys who does own that stuff to do it for you? No shame in appealing to the community, I think.