1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

My Workman (G0602), my way

Discussion in 'GRIZZLY INDUSTRIAL INC.' started by fitterman1, Jan 30, 2017.

1. fitterman1

fitterman1 Australia H-M Supporter - Premium Content H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Adelaide
    State:
    Outside US / Canada

-Return to Top-

This is my experience with what in Australia is called a Workman 250 x 550 lathe. It is exactly the same as what is also known as a G0602 as supplied by Grizzly in the US and comes under other names in different parts of the world.
    Gday viewers my name is fitterman1 and I live in Australia down the bottom just off the middle.
    I'm a mechanical fitter by trade and I bought one of these lathes a couple of years ago to plonk in the shed to make things for myself and others.
    Since I bought it I've spent all this time on and off ripping it to bits and going over those same bits to come up with a machine that has some form of precision and repeat-ability in its function as well as a much improved feel in the way it is manipulated.
    This write-up is going to take ages to complete because I still have to work out how to upload pictures. I'm also going to go about it in a haphazard order because that's how it happened.
    So the story starts 2 yrs ago when this fella I know was shutting down shop.
    He is a boilermaker and bought the lathe to bevel the edges of tubing and small od pipework prior to welding a butt joint.
    That's all he used it for, and in the 6mths he owned it he reckons it did about 12hrs of work.
    Anyway I took it off his hands for a bargain basement price of AU$500, they retail at $1250 on flea-bay by a local. Not a bad price if I say so myself.