My simple phase converter

twowheelinjim

Active User
Registered
Here's a picture of my electrical fire hazard waiting to happen...
It's a simple 5 HP 3 PH motor that is started by a 220 single phase motor via a lawn mower belt. It cost abot $300 in parts and has been in use for over one year.

Picture 009.jpg

Two Wheelin,
do you have a diagram of that? Also the top motor is driving the bottom motor, right? I'm still learning phase conversion, so I am an idiot with the questions.
Bob

I'm probably the least capable person to expain this converter. 220 power is fed into the square D junctiuon box where it powers the 220 single phase motor. the switch in the middle turns on the single phase motor and it starts to spin the three phase motor. Once the three phase motor is running the switch is turned off thereby shutting the power to the 220 single phase motor. I had read about these contraptions on the internet so I started collecting the necessary parts with hopes of building one. As I got to collecting, I found an ad on CL for a phase converter. The man came over and installed what you see in the picture and took what parts I had since I probably didn't need them. All in all, I have my machines running, I didn't get electrocuted, and 75 year old man got the satisfaction of making me feel like a jackass for not figuring this thing out myself. Then he tried to take my old Harley since he figured I don't ever ride it.

220 power is fed into the square D junctiuon box where it powers the 220 single phase motor. the switch in the middle turns on the single phase motor and it starts to spin the three phase motor. Once the three phase motor is running the switch is turned off thereby shutting the power to the 220 single phase motor.

So what keeps the three phase motor running once the single phase motor is no longer turning it?
I'm probably at the same level as Bob.

M

No, you two are doing all the work for the rest of us.