Mt2 - Tang Or No Tang?

Banjo5

Registered
Registered
Hi folks:

Happy New Year!

Would like feedback on two questions-

I'm looking to buy a keyless chuck to fit the tailstock of my Atlas 10F. I found one on e-bay, http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-32-5-8-3J...K-JT3-2MT-TANGED-TANG-ARBOR-MT2-/131609744055 , but it has a tang on the insert. I've always wondered why some inserts have a tang and some don't, and are they interchangeable? I'm guessing the purpose of the tang is to keep the insert from spinning, but which do I need - tang or no tang for my Atlas?

Second - I'm just beginning to shop for this tool. Is this one from all industrial tool supply reasonably decent quality, or is it junk? How is all industrial to deal with? I don't need a lot of extreme precision right now, but I'd rather spend the money to get good value, and something I can grow into if I need more precision to hopefully build models later. I can't see my budget going for one like an Albrecht for hobbying.

Thanks,
BANJO5

...as for tang vs. no-tang:

the tang is also useful to eject the arbour. On a drill press, you'd use a taper into a little window to eject it.

On my lathe tailstock I have had to machine some little plugs for the back end of some arbours in order for them to be ejected when the ram is retracted.
I try to make them a tight fit, some I lock-tite in place.

Be careful about putting one in without a plan for removal, they do tend to lock in easily.

-brino

Edit: here's a reference to removing one from a drill press, the tang is just visible thru the little spindle window.
http://www.ereplacementparts.com/article/3425/How_to_Remove_and_Reinstall_a_Drill_Press_Chuck.html

Last edited:
thanks BRINO.

After seeing your reply, I remembered that my drill press has a tang taper, and it looks like MT2(CRAFTSMAN, 1HP). I've got it out with the taper bar, and will try it in my ATLAS.

BANJO5