Moving From Colorado To Arizona, Need Machines Moved

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter Gold Member
No specifics yet, but am putting out feelers to see if any resources available, and how much it would cost.

The machines to be moved would be a PM1340GT lathe and a PM935 mill. The mill is on a base that has wheels. The lathe isn't on wheels but can be taken off it's stand and strapped down to appliance dollies or some other contrivance with wheels.

The machines are in Longmont CO and will need to go to somewhere (TBD) in the greater Phoenix, AZ area.

Anyone knowing riggers or other folks who could do it, please post. Thanks. :)

What's housing prices like in Longmont Co. .?

Slowing down a bit now, but have been going up 10% plus a year for several years now. Been told it's a seller's market, but it is softening a bit of late. Denver is worse/crazy(er)

I'm no expert on the area, but you can find prices anywhere from the 200s up to 800s.

Bill do you have a tow vehicle? Anything from a mid-SUV on up and a U-Haul trailer would work for that load.

If you only have those two pieces and can get it down to a manageable size, you could hire movers to load/unload in a trailer. If you put them on pallets, you can rent a pallet jack for $25 from Home Depot. Or use a HF hoist to load/unload. Done it both ways.

When I moved my Bridgeport, 13 x 48 lathe, horizontal bandsaw, and the rest of my shop from Albuquerque to Tucson, I looked at many options. I settled on renting a Penske with lift gate one-way. I picked it up in Tucson and drove it to Albuquerque for the move. Penske only rents lift gates for local use, so I had to pickup and return in Tucson. No big deal, it only cost me $55 in fuel and I had to drive back to Tucson anyway.