[Lathe] Morey No. 3 Turret Lathe: Buy, Or Not?

Mr.Haines

Registered
Registered
I found a lathe that could potentially be perfect for making the blowpipes I'll be using for glassblowing, as well as the other tools I need. It has been described to me as a Morey Number 3 Turret with adjustable auto feed. Seller says it has four foot long ways and that I can work a 16" wide piece. This thing is really big, much bigger than I was looking into, but the price is right and bigger is probably smarter because I'll probably need longer blowpipes and Pontils than I'm anticipating. The plan is to visit the machine sometime this week.

Can you guys give me an idea of what I'm really looking at here? Again, I'm a newborn machinist, so even inane info is helpful.

The machine comes with 2 chucks, a bunch of collets, and other tooling/accessories.

While I'm not familiar with that particular lathe I will say from personal experience that you can never go wrong buying a bigger machine than you think you need. A big lathe will do everything a small lathe will do. Ideally it will have a steady rest as you'll need it for turning long stuff and big steady rest aren't cheap. I frequently see 16" lathes sell for less than 10" lathes at auction simply because the big machine is a pain to move but that's generally a one time expense.

If you have the room and the price is good ...and it comes with the accessories you need. And ,as you say, it will do what you need ,why not. Post some photo's after you see it and throw out the price and
you will get a better idea of it's value. Good Luck. I don't know of the availability of parts for it though, or accessories if you need them. But it still might be a great deal!

Mr. Haines, while the Morey No 3 lathe you are looking at is a really nice machine, you need to consider what this machine is to be used for, before you buy.