Monarch EE worth the price??????

I think so. As stated earlier, I have no experience with the 10EE, but my general impression is if your men cannot make the required part on one, you need different men or a machine other than a lathe. A different lathe would be of no value.

Now I think you can tell us if the Monarch EE is worth the price. I also think your answer is going to be "Yes".

Bill

I think so. As stated earlier, I have no experience with the 10EE, but my general impression is if your men cannot make the required part on one, you need different men or a machine other than a lathe. A different lathe would be of no value.

Now I think you can tell us if the Monarch EE is worth the price. I also think your answer is going to be "Yes".

Bill

I've been working on the seller, trying to get a break on the price or some tooling to sweeten the deal. I'll let y'all know how it comes out next week.

Thanks for all the replies!

We repair tractors, farm and heavy equipment so it may be as simple as cutting some threads on a 1-2" shaft or building up and turning down such shaft to within 020". Or,,,,, it may be making some engine, transmission or other part that is no longer available & needs real tight tolerances. Or cutting a worn shaft down and making an undersize bushing to fit it.

Again, I'm not the best machinist that will use the machine. I have some friends that will do some work for me, they just don't have a machine of their own. I want to get enough machine to do the job. I've asked them but each prefers the machine he has at work and some are on very nice (can we say expensive) machines!

From what I've gathered, the EE or Hardinge are very high quality machines and capable of very tight tolerances. I also gathered that the EE can thread almost any pitch that is out there? Either would be capable of producing almost any part, no matter the tolerances (with the proper machinist of course), that will fit in the machine? Are these fair statements?