Model Cannon

I would do exactly as you're about to do.

No problems whatsoever. The brass, unless you make it crazy thin, will be more than sufficient for this.

The blanks are .22 and no, they don't go to any trouble to make them *quieter* though they do use smokeless powder which the old cannons did not have.

You might wanna pick up a pound of black powder for authenticity. (uh... a pound is good for a lot of shots... just sayin')

The .22 blanks would also be good for shooting. Not iron balls, but certainly plastic balls. That might be a real hoot.

I would make the fusing chamber to fit the .22 charges and use .22 charges to set off the black powder when I was using that. win-win!

Wrat

I must admit the idea of using the nail gun charges as a primer if I ever did want to load a black powder charge and a cannon ball had crossed my mind (don't know if I can even get gun powder here without a gun license - which I can't get as I'm still a forigen resident and not a SA citizen).
But you can get very large fire crackers here which I have considered cutting open.

IMG_0429.JPG IMG_0518.JPG
Not a machinest and never was at all but I won a small used smithy at a auction (was crazy to bid on it) so I wanted to try something. The black one (mortar) shoots golf balls about a quarter of a mile. The silver one is a 50 cal like a black powder rifle. Haven't shot it yet. Anyone can buy gun powder if over 21. I use a fuse on both. Be careful using anything but the muzzle loader black powder. And it looks neat to see all the smoke they are 10 and 18 inch barrels.

Couple things here
First, do not put oil in the barrel, oil will react with the powder and primer in the 22 charge and ruin them
second, check your local regulations carefully before doing much of anything In the states we can build black powder mortars legally. But your mileage may vary.