Mills for Gunsmiths

MC

Registered
Registered
A little background, I've been building 1911's, AR's and doing minor smithing on my own guns for several years now. Mostly filing, fitting and finishing. I'm getting the bug to buy a mill and just came into a substantial bonus check that has me even more motivated. The Precision Matthews models with the 3-axis DRO look particularly interesting but the reality is I have about zero real experience machining, just watching videos. In fact other than the recent smithing, drafting experience, and some seventh grade metalshop I have very little experience with metal. I am an experienced woodworker however.

My machine budget is ~3K and I realize there is substantial tooling that needs to be purchased as well. Any recommendations on the PM machines or others. I'm not inclined to buy a used Bridgeport, etc. because I really don't know what I'm looking at.

Thanks,

Mike

As far as I know some of their machines are made in Taiwan and some in China.
Don´t know about the quality, but I read you can call Matt (the owner of Precision Matthews) directly.
3k are very tight, especially when a machine vice has to be bought, too.

I think you would be well served by PM mill. Matt has good customer service in my opinion and that means a lot to me.

As far as I know some of their machines are made in Taiwan and some in China.
Don´t know about the quality, but I read you can call Matt (the owner of Precision Matthews) directly.
3k are very tight, especially when a machine vice has to be bought, too.