Milling machine table size

Dreamcaster

Registered
Registered
Hi
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, serif]I am looking at the Grizzly tools G0704 The specs below are what I am concerned about What is the maximum size piece of 1/2" aluminum plate that I could work on? I would be putting 1/4 20 holes on one inch centers would I be able to do a 12" X 24 plate? What is the maximum size I could get away with ? I am thinking it would be double the specs since you can turn the piece around and do the other half but not sure. I am a newbie [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, serif][/FONT]

Thanks
Michael

http://www.grizzly.com/products/Drill-Mill-with-Stand/G0704
Table travel (longitudinal): 18-7/8"
Table travel (cross): 6-7/8"
Table size: 7-1/8" x 26-5/8"

You would need a Bridgeport size knee mill with a 48" table to handle a plate that size in one set-up, and that would be just drilling the holes. It would take a larger mill yet to be able to mill the edges in one set-up. You could get by with a smaller mill, but it would take multiple set-ups to accomplish. You may be able to do it in the mill you pointed out, but it would take four set-ups with two of them inverted. If you plan on doing work that size often, you had better plan on a larger mill.

Tom

Thanks Guys

I almost had a Bridgeport for $1000.00 power feed XYZ DRO Some pickers got to it an the rest of the stuff ( I bet they made a fortune) It was 3 hours away and I was trying to get the logistics together but it sadly it slipped through my fingers. I will keep looking locally.

You can do a 12 X 24 part on your little machine, but you're going to have to move it 3 times. I would put a hole as near center as you can and then use that hole as you X and Y zero to put in the rest of the holes. Just don't tap your center hole until your part is finished so you have a nice smooth hole to indicate when you move your part.