Milling 3 flats 120° apart on a shaft

macrls

Registered
Registered
I’m a newbie and just finished my first major milling job. Can some of you experts suggest better ways of doing it?
I wanted to mill 3 flats on the end of a long 1/4” dia. drill extender. (To keep it from slipping in my hand drill chuck). But I have no rotary table or any way or measuring the 120° rotation of the shaft accurately. I figured it wasn’t terribly critical and a few degrees off wouldn’t keep the shaft from locking in a 3 jaw drill chuck. I clamped the shaft in my vise, fastened a miniature 6” woodworking clamp to the shaft with the handle pointing up and vertical (parallel to a door frame). For the second and third flats I “eyeballed” the angle of the 6” clamp relative to the door frame with a protractor.
Is there a more accurate way to do this?

Do you have an sample or a known 3 flat drill or something for an example. OR you can scribe the
degrees on a washer and fit the washer on the shaft. OR paint or blue the shaft and use a metal
small level (on level) slightly tilted and rake the level -leaving a scratch mark. Old school way but will
get you there pretty close. The washer works best with a piece of tape on the vise with a witness
mark then mill a flat turn piece to the next mark on the washer and so on. And It doesnt have to be
a steel washer stiff cardboard glued to shaft will do the same. Back in the day I did quite a few
tractor PTO splines with a simple degree wheel glued on a shaft with a welding rod for a pointer.

Drill out a hex nut to fit over the shaft. Use it to index the angles. Make it a snug fit. Machine one flat, rotate the shaft machine repeat.

Drill out a hex nut to fit over the shaft. Use it to index the angles. Make it a snug fit. Machine one flat, rotate the shaft machine repeat.

This would be probably not the easiest of methods but I would think, one of the most accurate for your project.
Or at least as accurate, as the hex nut is.:whistle:

Hi