May I Get A General Opinion On This Atlas Machine...price Ok Or Not, Etc...

barryww1956

Registered
Registered
This is a machine I'm considering. I know that thousands were built over the past decades. Now, I know one can't tell too much from a couple of pictures. But all things being equal, i.e. no broken gears, no binding, everything working as it should....does this sound like a pretty decent, reasonable deal...assuming of course that the description is correct? Is the pricing in-line with what one should expect to pay for a decent lathe of this type? I'm a hobbyist, but don't want to buy a cheap "hobby" type of lathe either. I love the older machines as I know there's gold out there if I can find it:
(Thanks in advance for answering the ten-thousand-ish such kind of question posted here on this site I only discovered yesterday)

10" Atlas lathe with attachments, parts list and manuals. Lathe was completely rebuilt less than two years ago. New reversible motor. Very light use since rebuild. Many attachments including: 3 and 4 jaw chucks, thread cutter, knurling tool, work supports, bits, holders, etc.

$1900

00G0G_1YU2FCwNLql_1200x900.jpg 00I0I_bTr7cPIwsSJ_1200x900.jpg 00R0R_7mKudzgSycV_1200x900.jpg

I'd think it's at least $700 to much money ... just guessing that the used machine market in your area is a bit dry .

Here in the rust belt I'd say the asking price is about $1000 to high .

One of my personal red flags is when it's advertised as " rebuilt "

Well, unless you are in an absolute machinery wasteland I'd pass on that Atlas 10" at that price.

With similar tooling I'd put the value at less than $1,000 - with a budget in the $2,000 range you should hold out for at least one of the 12" ones with a QC gearbox.

A lot of operations need fine tuning of speeds and feeds and this one doesn't have that option - and doing any threading at all with one of these with the manually changed gears gets to be a real pain.