Making A Dovetail Cutter

Ripthorn

Active User
Registered
Hey guys, I am drawing up some plans for a couple parts I want to make, and they will require some small dovetails in 6061. Max width will be 1/4", 60 degree included angle. I have looked around online and found one at Brownell's for $30, but since I've never used a dovetail cutter before, I thought it might be a good exercise to make one out of O1 (which I have on hand) and try it out before potentially trashing a perfectly good cutter. I will need to cut a total of approximately 30 inches of dovetail. My plan is to use a hex block and put either 3 or 6 flutes on it. However, I haven't been able to find any tutorials on making a small dovetail cutter, only larger insert-based ones. My questions are as follows:

- How much relief should side and bottom edges get?
- How do I determine how far past center to cut the flutes?
- What is the best way to sharpen the small, triangular flutes after heat treating?
- Should the corner of the cutter be slightly rounded to reduce the risk or ruining the tool in use?

Yes, I'm a total noob in this area, so please, school me!

I've made them before, single flute out of HSS. They didn't work too well, so take my advise with a grain of....no wait a chip of aluminum?

You never plunge down with a dovetail cutter, so I would imagine simply dishing the bottom on the lathe would be sufficient for bottom relief angle.

The best way to sharpen would be on a TC or surface grinder, however using an oil stone should work.

The corners of the cutter should be deathly sharp, however if the make dovetail has a beveled corner you can get away with some corner radius on the corner.

Hi Ripthorn, good topic you have started here.