Mach3turn problem notice

jumps4

Global Moderator
Registered
I'm really a novice at cnc lathe and have always felt a bit uncertain when using mach3 with my lathes and i may have found the reason. for years i have been searching for wizards and information to make the lathes work better but it seems like everything stopped in about 2010 on the mach3 artsoft forum where the lathe is concerned and i now may know why.
there is a problem in mach3turn that cant be fixed and that is why mach4 is being written
this is a post from Brian Barker the author of mach3 about the problem and i have asked him what i should be looking for so i'm not chasing my own tail trying to find a fix for something that cant be fixed in mach3. i just sent the message and i'm waiting to see the reply from brian.
this is from the yahoo forum:

"____________ _________ _________ __
To: mach1mach2cnc@ yahoogroups. com
Sent: Tuesday, March 5, 2013 3:45 PM
Subject: Re: [mach1mach2cnc] Re: NEW Wizard?

Yes... Mach4 and Turn. Back more then 2 years ago Hood asked me to fix
some things in Turn and I worked on it for a few weeks and came to the
conclusion that I couldn't do it how Mach3 was structured. So that
started me to develop Mach4. I had no idea the amount of work that it
was going to start.. the more I dug into it the more I knew we needed to
start over from scratch. So here we are .. on the tail end of the
project and we are making machines move and we are starting to work on
the more specialized version of the software. So Turn is a major reason
for this rewrite and it will see the most significant increase in
quality of supported features.

Thanks
Brian "

this is a little depressing since i have been cncing my lathe and just purchased more new parts to fix problems i have been having. i hope the cost of going from mach3 to mach4 isnt too high, i though updates and bug fixes in mach3 were lifetime and free once you purchased a licence. mach4 sounds like a bug fix to me.