[Newbie] Looking to buy a mill, I need alot more insight!

tjschweizer

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, first poster here. I'm a college student. I'm almost out for the summer. I used to be in college to be a machinist, that was last year, and now I'm in engineering. Long story short, I miss machining. I want to buy an x3 mill. Basically, it seems small enough that I can handle it in my house, yet big enough it can handle most of my projects (stirling engines, etc.) It's hard to find an exact answer on the internet, but I was wondering exactly which brand I should go with for the x3 mill? Sieg or Grizzly seem to be the main two options, but that's all I could pull with a Google search. Also, I need to know how well they can cut steel. Not any huge cuts, just cut it period. And, as I am a college kid, I'm broke. Preferably, I want to spend less than $3500. It seems I can get the mill and some basic tooling for $2000. Maybe a little more. But here's the catch, I want to convert it to CNC. So I would need an estimate on how much it would cost. I have access to SolidWorks and MasterCam through my college, so I don't need to spend any money on software. If anyone has any information, and links, and good places to buy, I need to know as much as I can before making an investment like this.

Thanks for the time!

I have seen more X2 and BF20 CNC conversions than X3s, not to say there aren't any. Cost of converting to CNC varies widely, depending on the way you go. At the very least you will need

* A PC for the control software (free for me, since I had an old one sitting around, or you can probably find an old clunker for less than $100, it doesn't take a lot of HP to run Mach or EMC2)
* Control software, the most popular are Mach 3, and EMC2, Mach is commercial, and I think the price is around $150, EMC2 is open source, and is free. I am using EMC2, and have been impressed with it. Lot of fans of Mach as well.