Looking for a primer on using a slitting saw

great white

Active User
Registered
As in the title, I'm looking for some good gen info on using a slitting saw. I've never used one before and just ordered one with an r8 shank to use in my drill/mill (cx600/g0704).

I guess I'm looking for info on speeds for different materials, depth of cut on a pass, oil needs, possible jamming concerns, etc. Types of saws, what they 're used for, can you cut gears with the slitting saw arbor, what other uses it has, etc.

Any info on proper use would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Conventional mill. Lubrication and chip removal from teeth are the biggest factors in success. Keep brushing the saw as it cuts. When used properly you can take one or two passes.

For slitting, use coarse tooth saws, NOT fine tooth screw slotters. I agree, about full depth cuts, speeds according to general tables of cutting speeds, feeds by feel, don't crowd the cutter nor feed too fine.

This is a case for a mister or coolant flow to keep chips out and the blade cool. A stream of air will help if you don't have coolant. You can hand brush the coolant but a steady flow will increase the cutting speed. You will probably be in the low couple of hundreds speed. I cut to full depth on first pss. When you buy the saw blades, subtract the arbor size from the diameter. A 3" blade on a 1" arbor will give you around 13/16" - 7/8" depth of cut. You have to subtract the outside dimension of the arbor. There are some ways to approach from both sides and finish by hand when you run out of depth. I find 1/16" blade most useful and just ordered a 4-1/2" diameter.